PROGRAM – TUESDAY 1st DECEMBER 2020

Starting at 14:00 EET (Helsinki), 13:00 CET (Berlin, Barcelona, Bilbao), 04:00 Vancouver
07:00 Detroit, Toronto, 9:00 Montevideo, 21:00 Tokio
Link for the webinar will be sent for all registered on Monday 30th.

 

14:00  Opening Forest&Photonics 2020 webinar

14:10   Biotic forest damages – A growing threat for forestry and forest industry 

  • KEYNOTE: CASE Spruce Bark Beetle Damages in Germany / Ralf Petercord, Ministry for Environment, Agriculture, Conservation and Consumer Protection of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (MULNV)
  • KEYNOTE: CASE Fungi epidemic for Pinus radiata in Basque country / Oskar Azkarate, Director, BaskEgur
  • KEYNOTE: Climate change threats to forest survival from drought, heat and pests. / Dr. Henrik Hartmann, Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry

15:05   Short break

15:10   A step back – Insect damages often start from wind damages

  • Climate modeling and satellite data analysis for identifying potential bark beetle areas caused by wind damages / Hilppa Gregow, Finnish Meteorological Institute

15:25   Bugs at sight – identifying insect attack using remote sensing

  • Bark beetle risk analysis and modeling of epidemic development / Päivi Lyytikäinen-Saarenmaa, University of Helsinki, Department of Forest Sciences
  • Experiences on detecting bark beetle damages from dead trees to “Green Attack” / Eija Honkavaara, National Land Survey of Finland
  • Drones and satellites for forest health monitoring in Finland and forecasting cross-border outbreaks / Eugene Lopatin, LUKE – Natural Resources Institute Finland

16:15   Solutions

  • Multispectral and hyperspectral cameras for collection of precision data from forests / Matti Rautiainen, Senop Ltd.
  • CASE Sweden: Real-time analysis and machine learning for transforming early detection tree data into operational information / Jacob Hjalmarsson, CTO, Arboair Ltd
  • Machine learning and real time analyze for hyperspectral detection of biological issues / Pasi Karppinen, CTO, ProtoRhino Ltd

17:00   Summary and conclusion of the Forest&Photonics 2020 webinar – Next Steps

17:10   The End.

 

Business Joensuu Ltd. reserves the right to make changes to the program.

@BusinessJoensuu @PhotonicsFinland

@forestphotonics @BusinessJoensuu @PhotonicsFin @flagshipprein #FP20

Business Joensuu Oy I Photonics Finland

 

Forest&Photonics is a unique event that brings together the forest and technology experts to network, collaborate and share challenges, opportunities and solutions.

More information

Juha Purmonen
Development Manager, photonics
juha.purmonen@businessjoensuu.fi
+358 50 354 3832

Timo Tahvanainen
Development Manager, Forest Bioeconomy
timo.tahvanainen@businessjoensuu.fi
+358 50 443 29